Folkestone Town Council

MINUTES of the Full Council Meeting held at the Town Hall, Folkestone on Thursday, 25th January 2024 at 6.00 p.m.

TOWN COUNCILLORS PRESENT: Councillors Abena Akuffo-Kelly (Chair), Charles Bain Smith, Jane Darling, Laura Davison, Christine Dickinson, Peter Gane, Kieran Leigh, Adrian Lockwood, Connor McConville, Jackie Meade, Tim Prater, John Renshaw and Belinda Walker (6.05 p.m.).

ABSENT: Councillor Lucy McGirr

IN ATTENDANCE: Toni Brenchley – Town Clerk

No questions were received.

2035. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors Bridget Chapman, Nicola Keen, Liz McShane and Roger West

RESOLVED: To accept the apologies from Councillors Chapman, Keen, McShane and West.

Proposed: Councillor Jane Darling Seconded: Councillor Peter Gane Voting: F:13, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

2036. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations.

2037. MINUTES

The Council was asked to receive and authorise the Minutes of the Full Council Meeting held on 11th January 2024 and to ask the Deputy Town Mayor to sign them as a correct record.

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the Full Council Meeting held on 11th January 2024 be received and signed as a correct record.

Proposed: Councillor Jackie Meade Seconded: Councillor John Renshaw

Voting: F:13, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

The remainder of the Agenda has classified item 4, Minute number 2038, as disclosing exempt information under Paragraph 3 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) thereby excluding the press and public from

the meeting whilst this item is debated. Press and members of the public left the meeting.

Proposed: Councillor Abena Akuffo-Kelly

Seconded: Councillor Peter Gane Voting: F:12, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

Councillor Belinda Walker arrived (6.05 p.m.)

2038. CCTV PROVISION

Michelle Anderson (Safer Streets Project Officer), Scott Butler (Community Safety Specialist for Folkestone & Hythe District Council) and Sean Smith (CCTV Manager Swale) were in attendance to present the option for 24/7 CCTV monitoring to Councillors and answer questions.

RESOLVED: CCTV Working Group to be reinstated. Town Clerk to email Councillors for volunteers to join the Working Group.

Proposed: Councillor Abena Akuffo-Kelly

Seconded: Councillor Peter Gane Voting: F:13, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

RESOLVED:

- 1) To receive and note report C/24/355
- 2) Due to time constraints and the request by the Safer Streets Partnership for 24/7 CCTV monitoring, part 11.1 (d) of the financial regulations be exercised, to waive contract standing orders and to agree a price without competition entering into an agreement with Swale Borough Council for the financial year 2024/25 for 24/7 CCTV monitoring, thereby preventing any further delay for the safety and protection of the community. With the long-term ambition of the council and its partners to have a functioning council run CCTV control room.

Proposed: Councillor Connor McConville

Seconded: Councillor Peter Gane Voting: F:13, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

2039. DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

14th March 2024 at 7.00 p.m. - Ordinary Full Council Meeting

The meeting concluded at 6.31 pm.

 	.Town	Mayor