## Folkestone Town Council

## MINUTES of the Full Council Meeting held at the Town Hall, Folkestone on Thursday, 30<sup>th</sup> May 2024 at 6.30pm.

**TOWN COUNCILLORS PRESENT:** Councillors Abena Akuffo-Kelly, Bridget Chapman, Jane Darling, Laura Davison, Christine Dickinson, Peter Gane, Nicola Keen, Kieran Leigh, Adrian Lockwood, Lucy McGirr, Jackie Meade, John Renshaw, Belinda Walker and Roger West.

**ABSENT:** Councillor Connor McConville

**IN ATTENDANCE:** Toni Brenchley (Town Clerk) and Jennifer Griffin (Administration Officer)

No questions were received.

#### 2082. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors Liz McShane, Tim Prater and Charles Bain Smith

# **RESOLVED:** To accept the apologies from Councillors McShane, Prater and Bain Smith

Proposed: Councillor Nicola Keen Seconded: Councillor Jackie Meade Voting: F: 14, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

#### 2083. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations.

#### 2084. MINUTES

The Council was asked to receive and authorise the Minutes of Mayor Making held on 7<sup>th</sup> May 2024 and to ask the Town Mayor to sign them as a correct record.

**RESOLVED:** That the Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held on 7<sup>th</sup> May 2024 be received and signed as a correct record, subject to an amendment in the spelling of Councillor Peter Gane's name.

Proposed: Councillor Lucy McGirr Seconded: Councillor Christine Dickinson Voting: F: 14, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

## EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

The remainder of the Agenda has classified item 4, Minute number 2085, as disclosing exempt information under Paragraph 3 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) thereby excluding the press and public from

the meeting whilst this item is debated. Press and members of the public left the meeting.

Proposed:	Councillor Peter Gane
Seconded:	Councillor Kieran Leigh
Voting:	F: 14, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

# **RESOLVED:** To exclude the press and the public for the remainder of the Agenda.

### 2085. STAFFING

The Town Clerk provided an update to Councillors

## **RESOLVED:** To approve the Personnel Sub-Committee's Resolution (no. 639) in relation to Post F05.

Proposed: Peter Gane Seconded: Bridget Chapman Voting: F: 14, Ag: 0, Ab: 0

The Town Mayor, Councillor Abena Akuffo-Kelly moved a vote of thanks to the Town Sergeant, Ian Bishop, for his dedication and hard work over the past few weeks.

### 2086. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

13<sup>th</sup> June 2024 – AGAR (Annual Governance and Accountability Return)

The meeting concluded at 6.45pm.

.....Town Mayor