FOLKESTONE TOWN COUNCIL



The Town Hall
1-2 Guildhall Street
Folkestone
Kent
CT20 1DY

Telephone: (01303) 257946

Email: enquiries@folkestone-tc.gov.uk

Web: www.folkestone-tc.gov.uk

Date of Publication: 6 June 2025

AGENDA

Meeting: Folkestone Town Council

Date: **12 June 2025** Time: **6.00 p.m.**

Place: Town Council Offices, 1-2 Guildhall Street, Folkestone

To: **Town Councillors**

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend a meeting of the Folkestone Town Council on the date and at the time and place shown above to transact the business shown on the agenda below. The meeting will be open to the press and public.

Any member who wishes to have information on any matter arising on the agenda which is not fully covered in these papers is requested to contact the Town Clerk prior to the meeting.

Toni Brenchley Town Clerk

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

To receive any apologies for absence.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To receive any declarations of either personal or prejudicial interest that Members may wish to make.

3. MINUTES

To receive the Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held on 6 May 2025 and to authorise the Town Mayor to sign them as a correct record.

4. MINUTES OF THE PLANNING COMMITTEE

To receive the Minutes of the above Committee's meetings of 30 January, 27 March and 24 April 2025.

5. MINUTES OF THE FINANCE AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

To receive the Minutes of the above Committee's meetings of 13 February and 17 April 2025.

6. MINUTES OF THE COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

To receive the Minutes of the above Committee's meeting of 11 February 2025.

7. MINUTES OF THE CLIMATE AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

To receive the Minutes of the above Committee's meetings of 4 February and 1 April 2025.

8. MATTERS AND RESOLUTIONS FROM COMMITTEES

(items in bold italic have been brought forward for debate, remaining items to be noted)

i) Finance & General Purposes Committee – 8 May 2025 (Extra-Ordinary)

- That Councillor Connor McConville be appointed as Chair of Finance and General Purposes Committee for the 2025/26 Municipal Year.
- That Councillor Nicola Keen be appointed as Vice Chair of Finance and General Purposes Committee for the 2025/26 Municipal Year.
- To receive and note Report F/25/387 and appoint Bidder 1 to carry out the replacement of the external fire escape and associated works to the Town Hall, with an approved budget of £50,000 from the Museum/Heritage Reserve.

ii) Climate and Environment Committee – 3 June 2025

- To appoint Councillor John Renshaw as Chair of the Climate and Environment Committee for the 2025/26 Municipal Year.
- To appoint Councillor Kieran Leigh as Vice Chair of the Climate and Environment Committee for the 2025/26 Municipal Year.
- That the Working Groups for 2025/26 be as follows:
 - Allotments

Councillors Nicola Keen, Roger West and Jackie Meade

Fairtrade

Councillors Liz McShane, Jackie Meade, Belinda Walker

- Parks and Open Spaces
 - Councillors Nicola Keen, Belinda Walker and John Renshaw
- Trees

Councillor Belinda Walker

iii) Planning Committee – 29 May 2025

 That the Meetings of the Planning Committee change to three weekly to better align with Planning Application closing dates.

9. INTERNAL AUDITOR'S REPORT

The Internal Auditor's Report for 2024/25 is attached for the Council's information.

10. STATEMENT OF INTERNAL CONTROL

To review the effectiveness of the system of Internal Control. Councillors are asked to consider the attached Statement of Internal Control in support of the Annual Governance Statement. The Chair of the meeting and the Town Clerk to sign.

11. ANNUAL GOVERNANCE STATEMENT 2024/25

To approve the Annual Governance Statement for 2024/25 (Section 1 of the Annual Return for the year ending 31 March 2025).

The Chair of the meeting and the Town Clerk to sign.

12. STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS AND ANNUAL RETURN 2024/25

To approve the Statement of Accounts for 2024/25, the Annual Return for 2024/25 (Section 2 of the Annual Return for the year ending 31 March 2025) and the supporting Bank Reconciliation.

The Chair of the meeting to sign.

13. PERIOD OF EXERCISE OF PUBLIC RIGHTS

For information, the dates set for the period of exercise of public rights are 16 June 2025 to 25 July 2025, during which time members of the public may inspect accounting records by prior arrangement.

14. ANNUAL REPORT 2024/25

The 2024/25 Annual Report is attached for noting.

15. WORKING GROUPS

Council is asked to approve nominations for membership to Working Groups for 2025/26, as follows:

CCTV: Cllrs Abena Akuffo- Kelly, Laura Davison, Nicola Keen, Adrian Lockwood, Connor McConville and Belinda Walker.

Highways Improvement Plan (HIP): Cllrs Jane Darling, Laura Davison, Christine Dickinson, Peter Gane, Nicola Keen, Kieran Leigh, Lucy McGirr, John Renshaw and Belinda Walker.

16. SPECIAL MOTION – Appointments to Outside Bodies

A signed Special Motion has been received from Councillor Nicola Keen to revoke Resolution No. 2174 made at Full Council on 6 May 2025, for an amendment to be made to the Trustees on the John Bowley and Sherwood Almshouses as per the attached list of appointments.

17. NEIGHBOURHOOD PLAN

Following a resolution at the Town Council meeting on 9 January 2025 and subsequent 'neighbourhood area' application to F&HDC, the Folkestone Neighbourhood Area was designated by Cabinet on 23 April 2025.

Should FTC wish to progress with the Neighbourhood Plan, the next stage is to establish a Working Group comprising of members and residents to take it forward, firstly examining funding opportunities to develop an appropriate budget to commission professional consultants.

18. DATE AND TIME OF NEXT MEETING

18 September 2025 - Ordinary Full Council Meeting

Councillors on Committee:

Cllr Abena Akuffo-Kelly

Cllr Charlie Bain Smith

Cllr Bridget Chapman

Cllr Jane Darling

Cllr Laura Davison

Cllr Christine Dickinson

Cllr Peter Gane

Cllr Nicola Keen

Cllr Kieran Leigh

Cllr Adrian Lockwood

Cllr Connor McConville Cllr Liz McShane Cllr Lucy McGirr Cllr Jackie Meade Cllr Tim Prater Cllr John Renshaw Cllr Belinda Walker Cllr Roger West

Parking available for Councillors @ 6.00pm on the precinct area at the front of the Town Hall.







